Les Bernardies

Les Bernardies is located around an old manor house in an idyllic setting on a hill in the Périgord Noir, where you can enjoy a rare serenity and a preserved nature. It is located 13 km from Sarlat, 8 km from the Dordogne and 20 km from the A20 exit Souillac.

The first official map with the hamlet Les Bernardies dates from 1770, however some of the construction indicates a much older history. It is said that the bastards of the Fénelon family residing in the castle of Fénelon and masters of this area, were placed at Les Bernardies to manage the domain. The coat of arms on our original manor house firebacks, however, indicates a link to the chapel of Hautefort Castle, so who knows…

Les Bernardies

Next to the manor house with its courtyard and service buildings, our village consists of 8 cottages and a guest room, accommodating from 2 to 8 people. Each house has its own characteristics and arrangement and are all tastefully decorated and have a warm atmosphere. Each house has its own color: Blue (Maison La Garde), Orange (Lo Grantso), Red (L’Escudorio), Dark Purple or Aubergine (Lou Fournial), Yellow (Lo Pertsorio), Green (Lo Cretsou), Pink (Lo petit Cretsou), Purple or Fuchsia (Lou Goratse) and Light Purple or Lavender (Lo Tsouco). Always handy if you have forgotten the Occitan names of the houses. All houses have a fully equipped kitchen, an outdoor barbecue and a private terrace with a view of the surroundings.

Les Bernardies has a large heated swimming pool with pool house, a courtyard with workshop, sauna and bakery/library, a playground with swings and slide, a petanque court and an enclosed parking lot. The grounds are largely car-free, so children can run and play safely, and they will enjoy our playground and the various animals. We currently have 2 donkeys, 3 goats, guinea pigs, chickens, cats and a peacock, the last three of which roam freely on the grounds. Children are always welcome to help us take care of our animals, who all love a hug and a treat from time to time. And our donkeys, Victoiore and Bouba love to be accompanied on their walks.

Les Bernardies is located in the center of the Périgord Noir, one of the most beautiful and welcoming regions of France. It is well known for its preserved environment, a varied landscape with small-scale agriculture and beautiful forests, rivers and streams, prehistoric caves, famous castles, historic villages with pretty markets and well-kept gardens. It is truly the ultimate vacation setting. We are also close to the Lot (Rocamadour, caves of Padirac) and the western part of the Corrèze (Collonges-la-Rouge, Brive). Furthermore, there are several small zoos and bird shows to visit. In our former bakery/library, we have several guides/booklets of places to visit, next to books and board games to borrow.

And let’s not forget its excellent/famous menu of regional specialties: truffles, mushrooms, foie gras, duck, venison, trout, nuts and strawberries. In the surrounding area there are many opportunities to enjoy a delicious meal in one of the many restaurants or to have a cool drink on the terrace of a café. Especially nearby, Sarlat is a wonderful place to walk around and sit on a terrace.

Besides visiting the historical sites, there are many other activities in the vicinity of Les Bernardies: canoeing in the Dordogne or the Vézère, accrobranche parks, water parks, golf, horse riding, karting and hot air ballooning to name a few. There is an official hiking and mountain bike trail right outside our door, one of many in our area.

Since we live in the Bernardies Mansion ourselves, we are available most of the day to help our guests, providing tips/recommendations on what to visit and where to dine. And when we are caring for our animals, you are welcome to watch / help. From time to time, we also organize classes for our guests, ranging from art classes, photography classes and cooking classes.

In the winter, we close the park doors to handle repairs and renovations. There is always something to do. There’s never a dull moment here at Les Bernardies. If you’d like to stay up to date on the ups and downs of our estate, follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Discover more options

Facilities

Le Hameau des Bernardies is idyllically situated around an old manor house of the XVII and XVIII century, on a hill, where you can enjoy an immense tranquility and the beauty of a preserved nature.

Houses

Le Hameau des Bernardies is idyllically situated around an old manor house of the XVII and XVIII century, on a hill, where you can enjoy an immense tranquility and the beauty of a preserved nature.

Activities

Le Hameau des Bernardies is idyllically situated around an old manor house of the XVII and XVIII century, on a hill, where you can enjoy an immense tranquility and the beauty of a preserved nature.

Les Bernardies

Les Bernardies est situé autour d’un ancien manoir dans un cadre idyllique sur une colline du Périgord Noir, où vous pourrez profiter d’une rare sérénité et d’une nature préservée. Il est situé à 13 km de Sarlat, à 8 km de la Dordogne et à 20 km de l’A20 sortie Souillac.

La première carte officielle avec le hameau Les Bernardies date de 1770, cependant une certaine partie de la construction indique une histoire beaucoup plus ancienne. On raconte que les bâtards de la famille Fénelon résidant au château de Fénelon et maîtres de cette région, étaient placés aux Bernardies pour diriger le domaine. Les armoiries de nos plaques de cheminée d’origine du manoir indiquent cependant un lien avec la chapelle du château de Hautefort, alors qui sait…

Les Bernardies

A côté du manoir avec sa cour et les bâtiments de service, notre village comprend 8 gîtes et une chambre d’hôte, pouvant accueillir de 2 à 8 personnes. Chaque maison a ses propres caractéristiques et arrangements et elles sont toutes décorées avec goût et ont une atmosphère chaleureuse. Chaque maison a sa propre couleur: Bleu (Maison La Garde), Orange (Lo Grantso), Rouge (L’Escudorio), Violet foncé ou Aubergine (Lou Fournial), Jaune (Lo Pertsorio), Vert (Lo Cretsou), Rose ( Lo petit Cretsou), Violet ou Fuchsia (Lou Goratse) et Violet Clair ou Lavande (Lo Tsouco). Toujours pratique si vous avez oublié les noms occitans des gîtes. Toutes les maisons disposent d’une cuisine entièrement équipée, d’un barbecue en plein air et d’une terrasse privée avec vue sur les environs.

Les Bernardies dispose d’une grande piscine chauffée avec pool house, d’une cour avec atelier, sauna et boulangerie / bibliothèque, d’une aire de jeux avec balançoires et toboggan, d’un terrain de pétanque et d’un parking clos. Les terrains sont en grande partie sans voiture, donc les enfants peuvent courir et jouer en toute sécurité, et ils apprécieront notre aire de jeux et les différents animaux. Nous avons actuellement 2 ânes, 3 chèvres, des cobayes, des poulets, des chats et un paon, les trois derniers se promenant librement sur le domaine. Les enfants sont toujours les bienvenus pour nous aider à prendre soin de nos animaux qui aiment tous un câlin et une friandise de temps en temps. Et nos ânes, Victoiore et Bouba aiment être accompagnés pendant leur promenade.

Les Bernardies est situé au centre du Périgord Noir, l’une des régions les plus belles et les plus accueillantes de France. Il est bien connu pour son environnement préservé, un paysage varié avec une agriculture à petite échelle et de belles forêts, des rivières et des ruisseaux, des grottes préhistoriques, des châteaux célèbres, des villages historiques avec de jolis marchés et des jardins bien entretenus. C’est vraiment le cadre de vacances ultime. Nous sommes également proches du Lot (Rocamadour, grottes de Padirac) et de la partie ouest de la Corrèze (Collonges-la-Rouge, Brive). De plus, il y a plusieurs petits zoos et spectacles d’oiseaux à visiter. Dans notre ancien fournil / bibliothèque, nous avons plusieurs guides / livrets de lieux à visiter, à côté de livres et jeux de société à emprunter.

Et n’oublions pas son excellent / célèbre menu de spécialités régionales: truffes, champignons, foie gras, canard, chevreuil, truite, noix et fraises. Dans les environs, il y a de nombreuses occasions de savourer un délicieux repas dans l’un des nombreux restaurants ou de prendre une boisson fraîche sur la terrasse d’un café. Surtout à proximité, Sarlat est un endroit merveilleux pour se promener et s’asseoir sur une terrasse.

A côté de la visite des sites historiques, il y a beaucoup d’autres activités dans les environs des Bernardies: canoë-kayak en Dordogne ou en Vézère, parcs d’accrobranche, parc aquatique, golf, centre d’équestre, karting et montgolfière pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Il y a un sentier pédestre et un sentier de vtt officiels passant devant notre porte, l’un des nombreux sentiers de vtt et de marche de notre région.

Comme nous vivons nous-mêmes dans le manoir des Bernardies, nous sommes presque toute la journée disponibles pour aider nos invités, en fournissant des conseils / recommandations sur ce qu’il faut visiter et où dîner. Et lorsque nous prenons soin de nos animaux, vous êtes invités à regarder / aider. De temps en temps, nous organisons également des cours pour nos clients, allant des cours d’art, de photographie et cours de cuisine.

En hiver, nous fermons les portes du parc pour gérer les réparations et les rénovations. Il y a toujours quelquechose à faire. On ne s’ennuie pas ici aux Bernardies. Si vous souhaitez rester informé des hauts et des bas de notre domaine, suivez-nous sur Facebook et Instagram.

Découvrez d'options

Facilités

Le Hameau des Bernardies est situé de façon idyllique autour d’un manoir ancien du XVIIème et XVIIIème siècle, sur une colline, où vous pouvez profiter d’une immense tranquillité et de la beauté d’une nature préservée.

Maisons

Le Hameau des Bernardies est situé de façon idyllique autour d’un manoir ancien du XVIIème et XVIIIème siècle, sur une colline, où vous pouvez profiter d’une immense tranquillité et de la beauté d’une nature préservée.

Activités

Le Hameau des Bernardies est situé de façon idyllique autour d’un manoir ancien du XVIIème et XVIIIème siècle, sur une colline, où vous pouvez profiter d’une immense tranquillité et de la beauté d’une nature préservée.